Grapes

Since getting back into designing/drawing/painting, I’ve noticed that I’m much more inspired by everyday life than I used to be. Daily objects become ideas for future projects.

I watched a documentary last night on Jean-Michel Basquiat (Jean-Michel Basquiat: The Radiant Child). When asked what his studio was like in terms of work-space, he mentioned always being surrounded by magazines, records, and other objects from which he drew inspiration from. I totally understand this behavior. I was on the train from work reading this week’s New York magazine and came across a picture of grapes. I thought this would look great with a stylized approach. And above you see the result. 

“Stop and smell the roses” is such a sad notion to be absorbed by the list of cliches, since it is marvelously true and not trite. If you take a closer look at what seems mundane due to routine/jadedness/familiarity, you find that there’s a little beauty in everything.

Leave a comment